DIY recordings

Hey guys,

Hope the week has been treating you okay!

I decided to do a blog post this week on how to record your own music from home in a really simple way.

Basically, if you’re just starting out recording or just want a program that’s super easy to use – use the GarageBand application. I love it. It’s to the point and gets the job done. It’s super straightforward and makes recording fun. It’s an Apple based application, but if you have a PC I’m sure that there’s software out there that does the same thing. In fact, I know that there is…but do I know the names of the software? Of course not. Sorry… I’m super helpful, eh?

I ended up buying a USB mic to up the sound quality a little bit for my recordings. Technically, you don’t have to do this though, because MacBooks come with built-in microphones. If you don’t want to use the built-in mic, you can get decent USB mic’s anywhere from $20-$100.

Basically, how GarageBand works is you can record different tracks of audio. You can then add effects to each track after (if you want), which can be fun to mess around with. It really helps put song ideas together by adding effects.

If you’re like me and live in an apartment type building (okay, fine I’m a 22 year-old living in a dorm) – it’s hard to play electric guitar and use pedals without the risk of pissing off your neighbour. GarageBand allows you to record acoustically (if you’re struggling with noise complaints), and then add effects to the audio file after you record something.

Adding effects, is a cool way to see what options you can play around with in the tone of your song. That way, when you can actually crank up your amp and play electrically, you’ll know what effects you actually want to use live…or maybe even what pedals you want to buy in the future.

GarageBand also makes it super easy to import your songs and recordings into your iTunes library so you can share and send out your tunes.

If you’re looking to do some home recordings, and don’t know where to start – GarageBand in my opinion, is the best way to get your ideas into audio files in a timely fashion!

And on that note, I…can’t…think…of…a…creative…way…to…sign…this…off…

So I’ll end this off with one of those cheesy yearbook comments:

Keep being awesome,

Bailee

 

 

